ST. NICHOLAS ISLAND..ROAD TRIP..

We were meant to go to St.Nicholas Island yesterday..(Saturday) but.. I was having New balcony curtains delivered, but they were late arriving and when they did arrive they were too short and didn’t fit properly, usual here in Turkey, so I spent the rest of the day making them fit, so we decided we would ride on Sunday..so here goes this is how it went..

First stop petrol and air in my tyres, sure needed it because my back tyre was 5 psı and my front was 26 psı, thought my back tyre felt abit flat!!! thinking somebody has been letting the air out…. topped both up to  28 psı ..

PIC_0002

We went through Gocek Tunnel and then to Fethiye, we always stop off what we call the view point, which is on the way to Fethiye, Montie has’nt been here yet so had to show him.

PIC_0004

Best put one of beloved on, and his Transalp..

PIC_0008

Montie got in on the act as well 😉  Fethiye town and the harbour is about 45 minutes away from the view point, its always beautiful there, clean, tidy and well kept.

PIC_0010

The heat is starting to get to me already, my legs are glowing red and to make matters worse I have once again TWICE burnt my leg on the bike, stings like crazy for the first half hour, the sweat is also dripping into the burn adding that extra sting factor!

PIC_0012

Now I sure as hell didn’t know the route after Fethiye, but I knew Dave did, I also knew, knowing my beloved that the roads he would be taking me were going to test my riding skills to the limit, and I was not wrong, the sharp hairpin bends going up very steep Mountains sure get the old adrenaline going, there’s no room for mistakes here.

hairpin roads

Mountains with no barriers and a long way down if you get it wrong, but hey always up for a challenge, Dave actually admitted he thought I would bottle out, haha but next ciggie stop he complimented me on my riding, I didn’t really find it too bad, but I sure had to concentrate on what I was doing.

PIC_0014

This is an old Turkish Water Cistern, over looking Ferthiye, the view here was amazing,

PIC_0017

Shall show you all the view , you can see for miles the higher you get up the Mountain,

PIC_0018

Fabulous you must agree, the photo hasn’t come out as well as I’d hoped but you can get the general picture. not far from here is what they call the Ghost Town, in 1922 before Turkey became Republic there was alot of tension between Turkey and Greece, they decided to have a population exchange, so what the Governments did was, the Turkish Government built houses for all the Turkish people to move from Greece back to Turkey, and the Greek people built houses for the Greeks to move from Turkey back to Greece, the Greeks went back but the Turk didn’t, so these houses have been left waiting for them ever since…

PIC_0019

Heres another pic of the houses, seems a shame they went to waste, they were never lived in just left to rot, as you can see Dave is gracefully making his way back down 🙂

PIC_0020

St.Nicholas Island is a very pretty place, boats, swimmers, jet skies, fishermen, it really has it all, as soon as you arrive you can see the Island, we got a small boat for the crossing.

PIC_0026

PIC_0024

Only a five minute crossing, here’s Captain Davey…

PIC_0028

The Island is quite big and one hell of a climb, and of course we left out water once again  in the top box of the bike, I have decided to blame this on Dave as he was Water Monitor!!

PIC_0029

And here’s abit of Info for you…

PIC_0030

Theres several versions of this story, but if ever you get a chance Google it, its worth a read, especially how Santa Claus ended up with the name as the man who gives out presents….Here’s what we saw as we climbed the Mountain,

PIC_0032

Orbs or dirty lens..you decide!!!

PIC_0033

PIC_0037

PIC_0034

Come on ol boy, a few more cigs and your there 😉 no kiddin it was real hot….

PIC_0042

Ahhh, a sit down in the shade, this used to be a Monastery, I love all these old ruins.

PIC_0041

I can almost feel Santa next to me, so.. Told him that I’d been a really good girl and I have come all this way to see where he used to live and can I have a 650 Motorbike for Christmas please!!!

PIC_0040

Dont see to many crosses left, most were destroyed so was pleased to see this one engraved in the stone.

PIC_0044

Another one of beloved, this one of Dave is even better..hahahaha

PIC_0050

Seriously gasping for breath now lol…come one best view is from the top..last one up is a sissy 😉

PIC_0048

This is one of the Churches below..

PIC_0049

PIC_0051

PIC_0055

Views from the top….

PIC_0052

PIC_0035

Back now to the bottom  to find our little man who has been waiting patiently in his boat for the Great Explorers to return.

PIC_0056

Back across the waters to find our bikes and much needed water.

PIC_0058

With all the climbing we done my legs felt like jelly, I couldn’t even walk properly and Dave said he was jellified to, we got back to our bikes which were parked in the usual gravel carpark, we stopped for about 10 minutes before we tried to move them, I couldn’t as my front wheel was stuck in the gravel so Dave came over and gave me a push, fine I thought ready for the off, Dave was struggling as well, maybe we should of rested longer ummmm…

Then as Dave was about to set off I decided to lose my hard biker image and scream like a girl when my bike toppled over, I did catch it, but poor Dave had to come over very quick and help me raise it back up, my legs just gave way  and the gravel got the better of me.. Dave hurt his chest and I hurt my back!! Oh we are ok these things happen… (hard biker chick mode back on!!!) Thankfully Montie is ok, no scratches..phew!!! yes before you say anything I should of let him go and saved my back, but honestly your first thoughts are ”Oh my god my bike”….

PIC_0064

Riding home was great, fresh air, not alot of traffic and the open road, what more could you ask for..

PIC_0070

PIC_0075

hairpin2

Quick stop before heading to Fethiye, and a few more bendy roads, going to have a look at the Rock Tombs  before heading back to Dalaman.

PIC_0081

Rock Tombs in Fethiye, there are steps that you can climb that will take you to the top, we have been up there many times and besides, we have had enough climbing for one day. Its been a great day despite the sun burn, burns from the bike and a dodgy back.

Heres a poem about the main man:

Holy Bishop St. Nicholas lived faraway

Near the Aegean Sea is where Turkey did lay.

Travel back with us now to a time long ago.

We will visit his country, his life we will know


We remember this saint, such a holy, good man.

Be like him in charity, do all that you can.

Many miracles Nicholas hastened to do,

Helping people in need with gifts that were new.


Bishop Nicholas traveled to Nicea town,

Where the Creed would be written, to us handed down.

During church every Sunday, we stand for the Creed.

Thank you Bishop St. Nicholas, for doing this deed.


Sailors tossed in the wind and the storms of the sea,

Saw a vision of Nicholas who guided them free.

Now patron of sailing, they remember him yet.

Many icons and pictures with fisherman’s net.


Giving money to poor girls, so marry could they,

Made our Nicholas famous, remembered today.

With dowry in hand, soon they were wed.

“God bless you and keep you,” St. Nicholas said


Kid’s patron in Germany, Netherlands, too.

Asks that presents be given to children like you.

Their customs are different: they put out their shoes—

Filling them with toys, his coming’s good news!


Here stockings are hung by the chimney with care,

In hope that St. Nicholas soon will come there.

Dressed as bishop or Santa, he’s one and the same—

Jolly, friendly, good man, we’re glad that he came.


Call him “Santa” or “saint,” they both mean the same,

For his nickname is Claus, short for Nicholas’ name.

Giving gifts was his custom—we still do today.

Deeds done in Jesus’ name forever will stay.


Bishop Nicholas still is a hero to all,

Christmas Day and all others we follow his call,

Bringing gifts and some joy to children in need,

Follow Nicholas today-do a good deed.


– Author Unknown..

See full size image

Holy Bishop St. Nicholas lived faraway
Near the Aegean Sea is where Turkey did lay.
Travel back with us now to a time long ago.
We will visit his country, his life we will know
We remember this saint, such a holy, good man.
Be like him in charity, do all that you can.
Many miracles Nicholas hastened to do,
Helping people in need with gifts that were new.
Bishop Nicholas traveled to Nicea town,
Where the Creed would be written, to us handed down.
During church every Sunday, we stand for the Creed.
Thank you Bishop St. Nicholas, for doing this deed.
Sailors tossed in the wind and the storms of the sea,
Saw a vision of Nicholas who guided them free.
Now patron of sailing, they remember him yet.
Many icons and pictures with fisherman’s net.
Giving money to poor girls, so marry could they,
Made our Nicholas famous, remembered today.
With dowry in hand, soon they were wed.
“God bless you and keep you,” St. Nicholas said
Kid’s patron in Germany, Netherlands, too.
Asks that presents be given to children like you.
Their customs are different: they put out their shoes—
Filling them with toys, his coming’s good news!
Here stockings are hung by the chimney with care,
In hope that St. Nicholas soon will come there.
Dressed as bishop or Santa, he’s one and the same—
Jolly, friendly, good man, we’re glad that he came.
Call him “Santa” or “saint,” they both mean the same,
For his nickname is Claus, short for Nicholas’ name.
Giving gifts was his custom—we still do today.
Deeds done in Jesus’ name forever will stay.
Bishop Nicholas still is a hero to all,
Christmas Day and all others we follow his call,
Bringing gifts and some joy to children in need,
Follow Nicholas today-do a good deed.
– Author Unknown..

14 Responses to “ST. NICHOLAS ISLAND..ROAD TRIP..”

  1. Fantastic post Linda! I must say, with you in your Converse’s and Dave in his driving mocs, you two make a very posh couple! Take care of the burns.

  2. montieandme Says:

    Thanks Lance, must say my converse’s are well comfy for riding in, dave loves his mocs lol…posh couple hahahaha burns will be fine thank you, I’m only being an attention seeker lol

  3. Great pics. Makes our little tours around here somewhat uninspiring. I guess we’ll just have to visit Turkey one of these days!

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. montieandme Says:

    Thank You Canajun for your comment, We love looking at our fellow bikers tour photos from where they live, through their eyes, know matter where in the World you live, every tour is an Adventure and inspiring 😉

  5. Linda & Dave:

    That abandoned city intrigues me. Do you think we can lay claim to one of those homes, and how much work would it take to get it liveable ? We would love to have a vacation place in Turkey.

    Nice to get your riding skills tuned-up with those roads which wind up the mountain and glad nothing serious happened on that gravel parking lot. At least you have Dave to massage your strained back . I can still hear you screaming . . . (nice leg too)

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  6. montieandme Says:

    hahahaha just took the leg off, thought the poem was more tasteful lol
    errr..to be honest not seen the houses in question in our local Estate Agents!!
    still nursing my back, and as for Dave massaging my back hahahaha he can barely walk himself!!! great ride though and a jolly good day out.

  7. “…….the Turkish Government built houses for all the Turkish people to move from Greece back to Turkey, and the Greek people built houses for the Greeks to move from Turkey back to Greece, ”

    η Linda, γεγονότα ήταν πολύ τραυματική και για Έλληνες και για τους Τούρκους

    • montieandme Says:

      Nikos :
      Οι Έλληνες και οι τουρκικές ακόμα δεν τα πηγαίνω καλά μαζί πολύ καλά.

  8. Linda:

    Whilst I was commenting, I went back to look at “my” leg picture. (I am sure you posted for moi) and it had disappeared. I went back and forth, and it was gone.

    On Dave’s blog he never mentioned anything about being out of breath, except for when he couldn’t get the Transalp out of the gravel. Should have rested more.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  9. montieandme Says:

    Oh he was out of breath, believe me, the amount he smokes its a know wonder lol

    We both should of rested longer, our legs were jelly and the heat had got to us both, Still I have never dropped a bike stationery before so theres a first!!

    Both suffering today with back pains, I hurt my back years ago and it raises its ugly head if I’m not careful.

    Didn’t want to raise your blood pressure , only thinking of your well being ..so took the leg pic off lol…

  10. Linda:

    you’ve got to get Dave to stop his ciggie breaks, other wise you should increase his life insurance. Tell him it’s good for his endurance

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  11. montieandme Says:

    Think that would be a bit hypocritical as I smoke as well :p

  12. Fantastic Linda!

Leave a Reply

