PUTTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT

Ok my blogging buddies, I seem to feel that a few of you…and you know who you are, appear to be lets say a little bit envious of my lifestyle,  so I think its only fair to put the record straight!!

So far I have shown you photos of sunny days, palm trees, beautiful scenes, well in fact what I should of really shown you is….wait for it….

The Snow…I can assure you underneath all those layers I can be found, the fisherman’s wet weather gear I thought was a nice little touch, I’ve always been known as being a follower of fashion!! As you can see, very cold, freezing scarf stuck to my mouth…

l_65d898920a6041a5b5e118ed6b707732

And as if I couldn’t humiliate myself anymore…….

l_89c9508eeb0a42bb995ef26ac4250490

I preceded to do the famous Turkish ”dance about like an idiot until you get warm” dance….. another quick pic as if your not convinced …

l_36d82e940964481f878e8602d574f123

Admittedly its not 5ft of snow, but rest assure my blogging buddies up  Mountains riding a bike its very cold…ok onto the next…

earthquake

Earth quakes…. now I’m not entirely sure if this man is responsible for them, I have yet to enquire, but a couple of weeks ago, poor Daves cupper went flying and neither of us could stand up, we looked out the window and saw numerous Turkish folk leaving their dwellings, by the time dave and I decided if we should leave or not discussing it in great length and if we should go out in our cotton pants and vest..it was over!! onto the next!!!

dpan681lThe Heat…. Now I’m not one to moan…but ıt does get rather hot here, I mean I get a new bike, cant wait to go out , get a couple of miles down the road and feel like ı’ve been on a 10 mile hike through a desert, a very big desert at that… you constantly drip with sweat and can never drink enough water and if you don’t the headaches start and you stumble about in a state of which I can only describe as a intoxicated zombie!! most of our Brit friends buy bottled water but Dave and I like to live life on the edge and drink it straight from the tap, I never thought I would see the day I ended up wearing big Cotton knickers with matching vest..no nylon underwear here ohhh nooo… onto the next..

dre0191l

Cattle..I love animals, cute little sheep, cows and goats, I like them even more when they are in a field behind a fence , picture this, your out on a lovely summers day, the suns shining, birds singing yar dee yarr…. and then as your finishing singing ”like a bat out of hell by meatloaf” a cow is there inches from your bike, followed by 20 chickens and a few stray goats…yeh not so lovely now eh!!..onto the next…

language barrier

Turkish Language Barrier…Living in any foreign Country its always a jolly good idea to try and learn abit of the lingo, Turkey is no exception ..other than its bloody hard to learn, its back to front and one word has 100 different meaning and uses, ı’ve picked up abit while Dave on the other hand waves his arms about like a demented Gorilla and they strangely seem to know exactly what he means!! onto the next..

3005591006_8b62706d43

Technology…The wonders of modern technology  amazed me in the UK, here on the other hand the lack of it amazes me, its not that you cant buy it, you can if you want to pay 50% more than you would in the UK… and tracking it down is always a good game, usually this marathon involves riding all day to different towns asking in gorilla arm swinging lingo what you want, to be told yok!!meaning ”NO”..then finding out from the shop down the road where you live that they can actually get it but its gonna cost and it will be here in approx 10 months and its coming from somewhere in Istanbul!!..onto the next…

boredBoredom… my Dad used to say is a state of the mind? yeh right Dad…I worked hard in the UK  always busy, in fact I could never really sit still, up early for shift, home try to understand my off springs needs and so on and so on, so what happens when you retire? glad you asked…you still  damn well get up at 6am thats what, cause your stupid (mind) cannot compute that you don’t have to get up early anymore…. you have to retrain yourself, Daves got it to a fine art, he didn’t really need training cause hes happy plodding along at zero warp speed, I on the other hand had to find things to do, you lucky people have jobs and  colleagues to gossip away to and have the satisfaction of doing a good honest hard days work..poor me on the other hand has to find numerous meaningless things to do…feel sorry for me yet..NO…ok onto the last…

l_e3404fdfe1c81ec7049620f7962ee2a0

Power cuts… Yep this is always a good one, cause the Power cut Monster always shows his ugly face when you are,

1. Downloading a film and only have 5 minutes left to go or,

2. In the middle of baking a cake…

This particular time of course he topped himself and waited until daughter arrived, he must of been having a good ol chuckle to himself..daughter on the other hand didn’t see the funny side of it, and proceeded to find the instruction on how to light a candle!!

There you go, I hope now you can all see  how Dave and I suffer, and in fact I really have managed to..

PUT THE RECORD STRAIGHT !!

COMMENT WORTHY OF A POST 🙂

SJAT Says:

Ok. I will grant all these things, but:

Snow. I dare say I needn’t point out that we still get that here. In fact, I suspect it was invented by a Yorkshireman. Of course that Lancastrians invented sleet!

Earthquakes. A friend of mine in Lincolnshire was almost squashed last year by his bookshelves that fell over onto his bed during the Market Raisen Earthquake. Here they’re just irritating rather than impressive. Sort of damp semi-earthquakes.

Heat: I’d have conceded this had we not had a headwave here recently. Thing is, I like heat. I love it. We don’t get enough. We get rain!

Cattle. Have you been over the North Yorkshire Moors? On my last trip on the bike I got my foot nibbled by a sheep!

Language. Ok this one I have to concede. I tried to learn a little Turkish before we went to Istanbul. It’s like learning to gargle Yiddish while eating glue and signing ‘red lorry yellow lorry’. But then I live in North Yorkshire, so English is still my second language…

Technology. I live in rural North Yorkshire. Nuff said?

Boredom. Now you see, I’m a Roman/Classical History nut. In our local area there are a few badly-weathered stones. I spend a great deal of time doing things like plotting all the ancient cities of Lycia on Google Earth. You live next to them!

Power Cuts. Once (once only mark you) have we had a New Year’s Eve in the village pub without power cuts. My parents bought themselves a generator, which suggests how often we have them.

Sorry, my dear, but you’re gonna have to come up with some better reasons than that! Love the pic choices though.


26 Responses to “PUTTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT”

  1. Still sound better than cold damp dreary depressing England!

  2. montieandme Says:

    Arrrr..now your just trying to cheer me up Nikos 🙂

  3. Linda:

    LIES, they are all lies to keep us away. but it didn’t work. You are living the life of Riley in a paradise, nothing else to do except to buy motorbikes and ride around the country and up the mountains, and take pictures to make all of us jealous

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  4. montieandme Says:

    hahahaha…..hang on hahaha …Bobby Bro ”would I LİE TO YOU”……. The evidence is there before your very eyes, in fact I may well need to go for therapy as the stress of day to day life is being to effect my ability to maybe purchase motorbikes…what will become of us!!!! woe is me!!!!

  5. Ok. I will grant all these things, but:

    Snow. I dare say I needn’t point out that we still get that here. In fact, I suspect it was invented by a Yorkshireman. Of course that Lancastrians invented sleet!

    Earthquakes. A friend of mine in Lincolnshire was almost squashed last year by his bookshelves that fell over onto his bed during the Market Raisen Earthquake. Here they’re just irritating rather than impressive. Sort of damp semi-earthquakes.

    Heat: I’d have conceded this had we not had a headwave here recently. Thing is, I like heat. I love it. We don’t get enough. We get rain!

    Cattle. Have you been over the North Yorkshire Moors? On my last trip on the bike I got my foot nibbled by a sheep!

    Language. Ok this one I have to concede. I tried to learn a little Turkish before we went to Istanbul. It’s like learning to gargle Yiddish while eating glue and signing ‘red lorry yellow lorry’. But then I live in North Yorkshire, so English is still my second language…

    Technology. I live in rural North Yorkshire. Nuff said?

    Boredom. Now you see, I’m a Roman/Classical History nut. In our local area there are a few badly-weathered stones. I spend a great deal of time doing things like plotting all the ancient cities of Lycia on Google Earth. You live next to them!

    Power Cuts. Once (once only mark you) have we had a New Year’s Eve in the village pub without power cuts. My parents bought themselves a generator, which suggests how often we have them.

    Sorry, my dear, but you’re gonna have to come up with some better reasons than that! Love the pic choices though.

  6. In my area, Seattle, people from out of time always hear from us locals that it “rains all the time” or “it’s never sunny here” and when they come out to visit, the weather invariably is sunny and beautiful! They think we are just saying these things to keep people away. So Linda, you don’t want us to move out there, do you????

    Seriously, I’ve heard about the EQ’s – I’ve been through a couple of small ones, and they are not fun even at that size.

    Take care in paradise!!!

    • montieandme Says:

      Lance my dear man, you are welcome to live here by all means but don’t say I didn’t warn you, why it was only 5 minutes ago Dave was saying how we have to invest in yet another sacred fan, can you imagine 2 sacred fans now, I don’t know how much more of this we can take!!

  7. Ooops – I meant “from out of town” – I haven’t met any time travelers yet!

    • montieandme Says:

      You HAV’NT met any timetravelers?, strange….why it was only last week Dr who popped by ours for a quick kebab and a cuppa tea!!

  8. I’m from North of SEATTLE, JUST LIKE laNCE AND bobscott…and what LAnce says is so true….lol…Hey Lance, I been riding all week…no rain brother….Have the week off.
    But Linda, I know what you mean sista… and I think therapy sessions are called for and my couch is alwyas ready for you…
    We lived in ASia for a number of years (!$ to be exact) and we needed to get the hell out of there frequently to re-connect with the real world…there’s no place like home… ! I’ve lived and I know where you coming from on this one… life sounds very romantic in the colonies and it is for a while…but then stress sets in…the kind that makes you itchy…for no reason….! CHEERS

  9. I’m from North of SEATTLE, JUST LIKE laNCE AND bobscott…and what LAnce says is so true….lol…Hey Lance, I been riding all week…no rain brother….Have the week off.
    But Linda, I know what you mean sista… and I think therapy sessions are called for and my couch is alwyas ready for you…
    We lived in ASia for a number of years (!$ to be exact) and we needed to get the hell out of there frequently to re-connect with the real world…there’s no place like home… ! I’ve lived and I know where you coming from on this one… life sounds very romantic in the colonies and it is for a while…but then stress sets in…the kind that makes you itchy…for no reason….! CHEERS…KEEP WELL AND TELL DAVE HIS PHOTOGRAPHY IS 10 NOTCHES UP

    • montieandme Says:

      AT LAST!!! Somebody believes me THANK YOU..THANK YOU Baron, The rest are a rotten lot arnt they Baron, for some reason they think I am exaggerating, breaks my poor practically half Turkish heart to think how misunderstood I am:) are we ever satisfied where we live….nah!

  10. Linda said: “The rest are a rotten lot arnt they Baron, for some reason they think I am exaggerating, breaks my poor practically half Turkish heart . . .”

    are you referring to MOI ? never . . . would I break your heart, Dave’s perhaps . . . but not yours . Warm temperatures would be good, but not too hot and to live in a place with moderate winters would also be nice.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  11. montieandme Says:

    Am I right in thinking you are trying to get back into my good books Bob? ok I suppose I could forgive you (in time) 🙂

    Seriously though, and I have been known to be serious at times..not too often… It is beautiful in places here, would be nice to have it abit cooler at times, only today I had to get a fellow brit friend to the hospital because he was suffering from chronic dehydration with a blood infection, not always paradise, can get serious, you have to be careful when the heat reaches 40c plus…

  12. Linda:

    Is it safe to peek over the fence yet ?

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • montieandme Says:

      Yes of course it is bob, hahaha..dave says you are off on a trip this weekend, where? and take loads of pics..ride safe..

  13. Linda:

    Just a day trip to Bellingham, WAshington, which is only about 50 miles south of Vancouver. It’s just the hassle at the Cdn/US border crossing that keeps us away.

    Did you get rid of your “Barbie” scoot ? or do you still have it ? I was just wondering

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  14. montieandme Says:

    Have a great day riding Bob, take loads of pics to show us, cant be any worse than the Turkish Boarder, only boarder we had trouble getting through on our European Tour, took about 45minutes, and we have Turkish residency and a Turkish driving licence!!

    The people that bought our Villa also wanted to buy Barbie, so I sold it to them, still see her around when they come on holiday.

  15. So what happened you stopped yapping suddenly…oops I meant blogging?…lol must be the heat

  16. montieandme Says:

    Ive been stuck in the Apartment with a lurgy 😦 either I have picked up some bug or daves been putting too much weed killer in my morning coffee 🙂 shall be blogging away once I can stay out the bathroom long enough!!!!!

  17. montieandme Says:

    Thanks Nikos but we don’t have pigs here..so forget the Tamiflu and just bring bacon and pork sausages please..will have a full English breaky when I’m better 🙂

  18. Linda:

    Yummy, never had a full english breakfast.

    Aw, shucks, you sold Barbie. I was thinking of borrowing it if I ever made it to Turkey.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  19. montieandme Says:

    Could prob still get her back for you to ride on..lol..know the owners 🙂 bacon on the way then?

  20. Linda:

    I don’t mind sending you some of our excellent Canadian Bacon but can it be sent ? will it spoil on the way ? I am not sure if you are able to send food in the mail. If you have PayPal I could send $$ for a new fan instead

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

Leave a Reply

