BIKES OF THE PAST

I love photographs, its so easy today with digital cameras, within minutes you have your photo loaded onto your pc and then on the net for all the world to see, who would of thought years ago it could ever happen… This has really nothing to do with my blog just having one of those deep and meaningful moments, thought  I’d put a couple of bikes on I’ve rode since ı’ve been in Turkey..

Got to start with Barbie my faithful scoot…

l_1cb5055ecb09e7cdc8e4b23b84be6b3b

There’s actually a story behind all this, so bear with me, it started years ago when one of my daughters bought me a keyring,

PIC_1275

Abit blurred sorry, but you can see where this is going eh! decided if Barbie was my nick name then Barbie I shall be, so it had to be a pink scoot, she had one…. Dave tried in vain to talk me into a black, red or even blue scoot, but No, I was adamant, Barbie wouldn’t be seen dead on a black bike so barbie uncool, after alot of searching I found her,  she was cool and got me around town quite nicely, was quite funny when Mick a tattooed long haired biker friend, had to put his Yamaha 650 Dragstar in the garage and he borrowed Barbie for 6 weeks…

So onto the next, this was a Chinese copy of a Yamaha Vırago,

l_e063c407989ab6ed750f4c89882e9fc1

kp049_800x548

Have sad memories of this bike, she was good looking and ran well, it was Daves bike and he got a 650 so had this bike going, I fancied the Mondial so he sold it, the person he sold it to trashed her, we saw it a few months later practically unrecognisable, wish now I had kept it.

l_c6f03b1520f0c61474f999a625ff3133

This was another little scoot we were actually looking after for someone, we rode it about, this was a Modial 125, alot of the Turkish people ride about on these, Dougal our dog at the time took a fancy to it as well, teach them young…Oh nearly forgot to show you my little runaround…

l_a663b08728e84fc0a274d222a5ee3960

Nothing special…WHAT!!  Ok so maybe I’m not being totally honest with you guys, we met some Turkish Bikers whilst out riding, this trike was fabulous couldn’t resist a photo shoot…

dcp_5579_1000x727

Fear not Montie, my Barbie days are over, Dave never made a very good Ken anyway 😉

16 Responses to “BIKES OF THE PAST”

  1. Great post!!!
    really enjoyed looking at the bikes.
    I recently purchased a Can Am spyder. you should check it out and tell me what you think, i have a picture on my blog.
    Thanks i will closely follow your blog from day to day!!

  2. Hello from lovely Sri Lanka.

    Thank you for your extensive comment on my blog. I see that you are also acquainted with Baron. Also a biker like you. I am sure it must be great to “run around” in Turkey. A country which I had the pleasure to discover a few years ago. Specially 24 hours exciting Istanbul. You have lovely pictures on your blog and I will, for sure, return.

    Take care

    Peter

    • montieandme Says:

      haha sorry Peter I got abit carried away there on your blog.. fascinating subjects you have there, Turkey is a beautiful place with fabulous scenery, its a pleasure to ride here, thank you for visiting my blog and hope to see you soon.

  3. montieandme Says:

    Hi Baro, thanks for your comment, have taken a look at your Can Am Spyder, so cool have left a comment for you, many safe and happy rides mate.

  4. Baron's Life Says:

    “so bare with me” …Linda…I’d love to bare with you darling…butI do not think Dave would be happy…lol….
    Love the pink Vespa…. did you actually really have one…?
    great post…. here’s another one for you….
    <a href="Get your HTML codes here!
    “>For LInda…the pink Lady…Barbie!

    • montieandme Says:

      Have change the bare to bear lol could of cause quite a stir that 😉 oh Baron please keep up, Barbie is not a vespa, it even has mondial written down the side, now thats a bigger mistake than my (bare) 🙂

    • montieandme Says:

      html code do not work on my wordress, you have to pay for that privilege.but thanks anyway Baron.

  5. sorry the link didn’t work the first time…second attempt…
    For LInda

    • montieandme Says:

      Nope sorry Baron, just took me to a page full of vids, surprised you never mentioned the trike!!!!

  6. I was thinking about your Barbie the other night… there was a Jack Dee comedy programme on BBC Prime where he buys a Vespa 125. What colour is it, people ask him. He says it’s Italian Racing Green. No, it’s not, someone says, it’s pistachio green, I asked at the shop. It’s a bit gay, someone says. Then he buys a leather jacket to go with it. Leather, someone says, it’s a bit gay. The programme ended with him running out of spray paint as he tried to respray it black.

    A bit off-topic. And it was funny at the time. And I’ve decided that the Suzuki is Japanese Racing Black.

    • montieandme Says:

      hahaha thanks John, If you say the Suzuki is Japanese Racing Black, then Japanese Racing black it is!!! 😉

  7. It’s a shame you don’t still have Barbie. I found just the right accessory for it. If the link works.

    • montieandme Says:

      Do you know I was looking for a helmet John, just like that, but alas there was no pink helmets available here…strange eh!!!

  8. Love your site Linda. Ride safe over there. I also added your site to the blogroll on North Texas Bikers III. I will be a frequent visitor to your site.

    • montieandme Says:

      Thank you John for your lovely comment, great to have you here, love your blog, the bikes are fantastic..

Leave a Reply

