MEETING MONTIE

MEETING MONTIE

There he was tall, dark and very handsome, although I must say abit rough looking, but nothing that a good wash and pampering wouldn’t cure, this I was going to enjoy, enjoy very much, and between you and me…he much better than the last!!

Now let me introduce myself, I’m Linda and I live in Dalaman Turkey with my husband David, we’ve been living here for over 4 years and its the best thing we ever did, the scenery is fabulous and the places to visit ample. David has been riding Motorbikes for years, I rode  abit in the Uk so when we came to Turkey we decided to buy a bike. Dave has a 650 Honda Transalp and I got a pink scooter, she was cool and I called her Barbie, but I was limited to where I could really ride, of course the speed was an issue…I couldn’t !! and the roads have big pot holes, well I say roads..if you squint they look road…ish, so after nagging and throwing a a few hissy fits my hard work paid off…

So after a good wash and that pampering here he is…

DCP_5580

Good looking chap you have to agree, a 250 Mondial mct.. ok so hes not a 650 cc but my beloved..(david) has given the ” we’ll see” which in our marital status means ”I’ll think about it”… for me  to have a bigger bike in a year.. if I dont trash this one…..

Its not really about trashing the bike, its about riding on Turkish roads, we also have rather alot of mountains, so for the faint hearted its not that easy, I can assure you that once you have dodged the cows, sheep, goats, chickens, pot holes and of course the people walking in the middle of the road..anywhere will be a doddle to ride…

Montie and me

I got  Montie two days ago, I had gone to see another Mondial that had been advertised on a Turkish website,it  looked in very good condition and came at a reasonable price tag. But after seeing the bike we knew straight away that the photo on the website was most certainly not the bike that was before us, it needed a good respray and had numerous cracks and dents, when Dave took it for a test run he said that there was a problem with the carburettor as well, so as disappointed as I was we had to walk away. As we rode along I spotted a Mondial parked up on the side of the road and asked our policeman friend who it belonged to, he found the owner and asked if he would sell it to me, nothing ventured as they say….and he did 🙂 Dave did his usual waving of the arms and haggled the price down, the bike was 6 months old and only had 3000km on the clock..whoopee bargain..the bike costs 3500 Lira new and we got him for 2000 Lira..

David being the understanding, caring chap he is said ”come on you bought her you ride her, no messing around” so I got up early as I was keen to go riding and dave promptly took me to an off road beaten up track, a bridge that was hundreds of years old that was covered in grit and steep slopes that made ya tummy turn… thanks!!!  he actually confessed that he thought I would bottle out on the bridge but no, not this adventure rider 😉  ı’m going all the way baby….

dcp_5589_482x750

I’m actually really glad Dave took me there, he does keep an eye on me, he knows I can ride but I still lack confidence. I remember  last year when he had a 250 cc and told me to ride it, he got on my scoot dumped me far away from the villa and told me to ride back, I had no choice, so after riding back and hitting him over the head a few times I thanked him, because sometimes you just need a push…even when you dont think you do…

Sorry, I’m diverting again, yes we went off road today, Dave keeps telling me to use the back brake,  feels very strange riding a Motorbike after being on a scoot, the trouble with scoots are you get bounced around so much on the bumpy roads, the wheels are so small and you feel every pot hole, now today when I took Montie off road it was brilliant, I found stones, dips and bad road just to see how he would handle, the outcome was very good, hes very light at 160kg which is ideal for me and I can maneuver him about without struggling.

dcp_5579_1000x727

It was quite amusing watching the Turkish people staring and pointing at me as there are no woman motorbike riders here, they ride scooters and thats only been recently, the men I met today gave me the thumbs up and waved, most were just shocked .

PIC_0215

I did find the gravel abit unnerving as I felt the back wheel slide, it was ok on the flat but not so ok on the slopes, happy to say I managed him,  keeping at a slow speed. I actually feel alot safer on Montie than what I ever did on the Scoot, the wind does not knock you about as much and you are sitting in a much more controlled position, scooters are fine for around the town, but in my opinion and experience Motorbikes for long distance or bad roads.

PIC_0214

I really enjoyed the day, off roading I thought was really not my thing, but if I intend to ride to Greece and hopefully other Countries, I’m going to need all the experience I can get.

DCP_5586

Oh. I have managed to get one burn on my arm from the exhaust, trying to find where oil was coming from, two big blisters on my feet from biking in no socks and blisters on my thumb from the clutch!! does this make me a real biker now 😉

dcp_5594_1000x718

Its not that easy trying to keep up with a 650 Transalp, of course Dave now has competition and secretly I think hes a worried man  😉

Back on our way home we bumped (not literally) into Mick a good friend of ours. he rides a Yamaha Dragstar 650, we had a chat and off we went for a well earned rest….well actually I took Dave the scenic route home 🙂

DCP_5565

Tomorrow its polishing day again, he got abit muddy which I blame entirely on dave for taking me there, I shall however spend a couple of happy hours making him shine again…

There he was, Tall dark and very handsome, although I must say abit rough looking, but nothing that a good wash and pampering wouldn’t cure, this I was going to enjoy, enjoy very much and between you and I he’s much better than the last!!!
Now let me introduce myself, I’m Linda and I live in Turkey with my husband David, we’ve been living here for over 4 years and its the best thing we ever did, the sceanery is fabulous and the places to visit ample. Dave has been riding Motorbikes for years, I rode abit in the UK so when we came here we decided to buy a Bike, Dave rides a Honda Transalp, but me I got to ride a scooter, she was cool, pink called Barbie!! but I was limited to where I could really ride, of course the speed was an isue…I couldn’t and the roads here have pot holes, well I say roads, if you squint they look road…ish! so after nagging and wearing Dave down there was nothing that a few hissy fits couldnt sort out…

So after a good wash and pampering here

19 Responses to “MEETING MONTIE”

  1. Hi Linda – great first blog! Keep it up. Look forward to reading more.

    • montieandme Says:

      Thanks Bev, been a fun day even though I was abit worried when I saw where he was taking me, good experience.

  2. travelswithmymotorbike Says:

    Good start on the blog Mrs. don’t forget to write what a generous husband you have and how I am now neglected and in second place to Montie lol..

    Cheers

    Dave…

  3. Beuatiful stuff and great write-up
    Have added you to my blog roll.
    Can you put one of them follow-me gadgets on your blog…I’d like to follow all the interesting stuff you post. Thanks

  4. montieandme Says:

    Thanks Baron,Yep no problem, I shall have a look at my gadgets and try and find the one you mean…did you read what dave wrote above your comment..(he knows his place) 😉 just looked….you will have to enlighten me on the gadget in question as I cant find it….thanks

  5. Keep hin on a leash and you’ll be fine

  6. Sounds like a plan…keep him on a leash…go to my blog, scroll down and look at the place where it says followers…that’s what Iam talking about,

  7. Sounds like a plan…keep him on a leash…go to my blog, scroll down and look at the place where it says followers…that’s what I am talking about, let’s see if I can find it for you

  8. montieandme Says:

    I’m on your list, read your link above but I dont have an option in my widgets for follow me, and I cant find a folder in my widgets to download it to 😦

  9. Thanks Linda… you need to follow the instructions from the description all the way to the end..you need to upload this file
    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/tags/follow-me
    and go from there…maybe difficult to you to do…wait till you get more expereienced with the wordpress.
    Actually it’s not that hard to do….just requires patience…

  10. montieandme Says:

    where is my wp-content/plugins directory Baron? You are using wordpress.org I am using wordpress.com the layout and options are different.

  11. You are right Linda. I just finished reading all there is about it…it cannot be used on wordpress.com
    I’m using blogger.com

  12. I can see the headlines in “Motorcycle news” for this week…
    With Tampons fitted to their Bike, Montie & Mistrees Linda choke Dave into submission…read full story!

  13. montieandme Says:

    hahahaha..now thats a thought 😉 wonder how much they would pay me for the story!!!!

  14. Depends on the details and pictures you submit and whether you show you leather gear and whip…but probably, they’d pay a lot even though we’re just laughing

  15. montieandme Says:

    Think I’ll give it a miss 😉

Leave a Reply

